Need help finding federal funding sources for your projects? Try our new and improved Funding Tool

Emergency Management Performance Grants (EMPG, American Rescue Plan Act)

Federal Agency


Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)


To provide state, local, tribal and territorial emergency management agencies with the resources required for implementation of the National Preparedness System and works toward the National Preparedness Goal of a secure and resilient nation. The EMPG’s allowable costs support efforts to build and sustain core capabilities across the prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery mission areas.

Applicant and/or Project Eligibility Requirements

Eligible entities include state or territorial governments (the State Administrative Agency [SAA] or the state’s Emergency Management Agency [EMA]). Recipients must ensure and maintain adoption and implementation of the National Incident Management System (NIMS). Non-territorial recipients must belong to, be located in, or act as an Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) temporary member state.

Decarbonization Considerations

The EPMG program focuses on all-hazards emergency preparedness and is designed to build and sustain core capabilities. Consider resilience hubs and resilience facilities with solar and storage equipment, which is an allowable equipment expense. Decarbonization strategies may include disaster preparedness projects that include battery storage systems and microgrids with carbon-free generating resources.

Equity Considerations

EPMG Program grants may be used to foster whole community preparedness. Examples given in the Preparedness Grants Manual including planning with stakeholders who may face particular challenges in the aftermath of a disaster, such as seniors and those with accessibility and functional needs.

Helpful Tips

The FY23 NOFO may be viewed here: More information on eligible activities may be found in the Preparedness Grants Manual:

Other Notes

Emergency Management Performance Grants are allocated to 50 states and 6 other entities according to a formula. State emergency management authorities may then hold competitive sub-grant award process. An EPMG application must submit a work plan and consult with the FEMA regional manager to ensure the plan addresses state and regional priorities. To determine eligibility for federal disaster declaration funding, please check FEMA's website at

Deadline (Announced or Anticipated)

May 18, 2023

Funding Available


Max Award Amount


Expected Allocations


Average Award (Estimated)

0.25%-0.75% of total funding

Matching Funds

50% cost share required

Go to Program Website